this rectangular, two-storey building is the most elegant of the Venetian building of Heraklion town. It was built between 1626 and 1628 by the General Francesco Morosini and used to be a place of nobility’s meetings and recreation. The building that visitors can admire today is a restoration of the old building which was destroyed. It houses the Town Hall.
Morosini Fountain (Lion’s Fountain)
this beautiful fountain is situated in the middle of Venizelos square and was built during the Venetian times by the General Morosini. The square is a miniature of the Square of Saint Mark in Venice and was the centre of the Venetian city Candia. The water of the fountain was brought by an aqueduct.
This superb fountain has a central basin which stands on the backs of four lions. The water pours into 8 basins which are intercommunicating, forming a giant flower, and decorated with carved scenes from Greek mythology.
The Building of the public services
the barracks of Saint George used to stand in this building which was built by the Venetians during the 16th century. The barracks were destroyed and rebuilt by the Turks. The old Venetian gate can still be seen.
The Vikelian Library:
this library was founded in 1910 and its first books were a donation of Demetrios Vikelas. Today this beautiful library houses about 80.000 books.
The Municipal Market:
This picturesque market is a bustling and colourful outdoor place where all kind of Cretan goods can be bought such as excellent nuts, mouth-watering fruits, wonderfully smelling herbs, colourful spices, tasty cheeses, local meat, etc.
The Bembo Fountain
this fountain stands on Kornaros square and is the oldest fountain of Crete. It was named after the Venetian who built it and adorned it with reliefs of Venetian coats of arms and Roman statues. Pilasters and columns are decorating its façade.
Bembo Fountain, probably the oldest, and it bears some very good decoration, although it has ceased to fount. The Bembo Fountain was built in 1588 by Venetian architect Zuanne Bembo. It is decorated with columns, Venetian family coats-of-arms and a headless male statue, brought here from Ierapetra. At one time, people believed that the statue had supernatural powers and, every May, religious rituals were organised in its honour. The atmospheric kafeneio alongside it, still serving Greek coffee and aperitifs from an antique stone pavillion at its centre, is a great reminder of Crete’s Turkish past. The Plateia itself is named after Vitsenzos Kornaros (1553 to approx.1614), composer of the epic poem Erotokritos, which is regularly performed around Crete, and still evokes pride in every Cretan heart. From here, it is close to Agios Minas Cathedral or, in the opposite direction, Freedom Square.
This multifunctional arena with football field, 400 meters tartan track, swimming pool and various training facilities can accommodate 26,400 spectators. Since the Olympic Games in 2004, it is home of the football team ERGOTELIS Crete.